Nishnawbe Aski Nation

skip to content
font size: S M L

May 6, 2016


THUNDER BAY, ON (May 6, 2016): Nishnawbe Aski Nation (NAN) Grand Chief Alvin Fiddler, on behalf of the Executive Council, congratulates the recipients of the 2016 Northwestern Ontario Aboriginal Youth Achievement & Recognition Awards presented last night.

“It is a pleasure to acknowledge these outstanding young people and it is important that we support them and recognize their achievements,” said NAN Grand Chief Alvin Fiddler, who delivered opening remarks at the gala event. “These young leaders are making a difference in their communities and we thank them for their efforts to improve the lives of our people.”

Presented annually, the Aboriginal Youth Achievement & Recognition Awards recognize Aboriginal youth who focus on innovative ways of learning about and planning for their future. Youth are recognized not only through their accomplishments, but also their efforts.

Award-winning youth from NAN First Nations include:

  • Sariane Fiddler, Webequie
  • Andrea Yesno-Linklater, Eabametoong
  • Lloyd Lawson, Kasabonika
  • Destiny Young, Eabametoong
  • Josie Spade, Mishkeegogamang
  • Demi Abraham, Long Lake #58
  • Tyler Kakegamic, Sandy Lake
  • Ricky Ostamus, Neskantaga
  • Chris Winnepetonga, Wunnumin Lake
  • Darren Anderson, Kasabonika Lake
  • Rayne Meekis, Deer Lake
  • Landyn Atlookan, Eabametoong
  • Isabel Sofea, Nibinamik
  • Brianna Jacob, Webequie
  • Tyson Jacob, Webequie
  • Tyrell Moonias, Neskantaga
  • Tamarah Goupil, Long Lake #58
  • Tristan Quisses, Neskantaga
  • Steve Achneepineskum, Marten Falls

For more information please contact: Tamara Piche, Communications Officer – Nishnawbe Aski Nation (807) 625-4906 or cell (807) 621-5549 or by email

To download news release click here